follow Toolangi on facebook follow Toolangi on Instagram Toolangi rss feed

2007 RESERVE CHARDONNAY

ROBERT PARKER'S WINE ADVOCATE, ISSUE 201, June 2012

Displays toasty/yeasty notes over a core of white peaches, apple tart, mace, citrus zest and cashews. Medium-bodied, creamy textured and richly fruited in the mouth, it has a great line of crisp acidity lending lift to the long, peachy finish. Rating 92.

JAMES HALLIDAY, AUSTRALIAN WINE COMPANION, 2010 Edition

Ripe and highly expressive bouquet with lots of toasty oak, grilled nuts and nectarine; the wine has pure power at all levels, and needs time to integrate all of its parts, and will go a long way. Rating 94. Drink to 2015.

HUON HOOKE, GOURMET TRAVELLER WINE, February/March 2012

This is chardonnay writ very large: it's as full-bodied and hedonistic as it comes. Deep yellow; rich, nutty, nougat, toasted, caramelised bouquet which is voluminous and opulent in the mouth. Power, concentration and length. Majestic stuff!

HUON HOOKE, www.huonhooke.com, November 17 2011

Deep yellow, developed colour. Big, rich, nougat, roasted hazelnut, toasted almond and caramelised taste. Very rich and mouthfilling, deep and voluminous, really ample and big. Opulent wine. Very much a Kinzbrunner style. Powerful, concentrated and very long. Really reverberates around the mouth long after it's gone. A sensational, and massive, chardonnay!

PAUL IPPOLITO, 5 MINUTE WINE RUSH, September 29 2011

This wine should come with a big warning label. Don’t just buy one bottle it should say. You instead have been warned. The disappointment factor at the end of the first bottle is big. A tap to an upside down empty bottle doesn’t elicit much hope either. Perhaps I shouldn't have shared it I say, treated loved ones, perhaps I should have consumed it all on my own, in a dark deserted corner, all in the name of wine writing. Anyway the end has come and it is time to put pen to paper. 

A luxuriant luxurious seductive stunning Chardonnay delivered itself on my palate. Rich and lightly creamy, the soft smooth pure fruit, classic peach melon subsumes the senses. The oak has just melded seamlessly and balanced with the fruit and it is drinking so well synced and so soft and so harmoniously. This is a dazzling wine, one that will reward in the future, but wow it is drinking ever so good now. 

The techo’s amongst you will want to know it is unfiltered and made by Rick Kinzbrunner of Giaconda fame. Traditional methods, handpicked grapes, low cropped Yarra Valley fruit etc – my advice is sink your nose into the glass and get carried away, like I have. Try it with lobster mornay, a match made in heaven. Drink to 2016. 97-98/100 – Exceptional.

NICK STOCK, THE AGE SYDNEY MORNING HERALD GOOD WINE GUIDE 2011 Edition

The maestro up at Giaconda has worked some serious magic on this Yarra Valley fruit; it has fragrant, sweet French oak and citrus in every guise, immensely concentrated. The palate's scintillatingly concentrated and powerful, with a no-holds-barred texture and fruit intensity to spare. Long peach and cashew finish.

WINESTATE, September/October 2011

Lovely flinty/lemon drop bouquet, some excellent toasty oak characters and nicely developed array of hazelnut oak and sweet peach flavours.

MAX CRUS, CLARENCE LIFE, September 2011

Lots of wines bear the moniker 'Reserve' undeservedly. This is not one of them. Love to try it in 2020. 8.9/10.

FERGUS MCGHIE, THE CANBERRA TIMES, PANORAMA, July 23 2011

I have to admit to being a chardonnay lover. It's one of the noble French varieties and when it's good there are few white varieties that come close. This 2007 Reserve Toolangi is one of the best I've tried all year. To be honest, I was expecting it to be quite broad and rich, being four years since vintage. While it certainly isn't shy, it is still packed with plenty of primary fresh flavour.

There's a touch of what I would call complex solids character, best described as a savoury smoky, stony aroma. The palate is rich but fine with lovely oatmeal and dried fig flavours. Best of all, the finish is crisp and fresh carried by long tingly citrus-laden acidity. I found this was one of those bottles I just couldn't leave alone, it disappeared in a flash.

Now I know it's not in the bargain end of the price scale at $70, but it's worth every cent. Made by Rick Kinzbrunner of Giaconda fame and sourced from a single low yielding site, it's a fair bit cheaper than burgundy of this quality and somewhat less than a Giaconda too. Try it with the best organic roast chicken you can find.

JAMES HALLIDAY, WEEKEND AUSTRALIAN MAGAZINE, 23-24 October 2010

Low-yielding estate-grown vines from a single block provided the grapes for this wine contract-made for Toolangi by Rick Kinzbruner; it was 100% barrel-fermented and matured for 16 months in French oak barriques. Gleaming green-gold, it is a wine of great power and complexity, with layers of stone-fruit flavours that are normally the domain of Grand Cru white burgundies. Cashew nut characters ex the oak and a pure line of acidity complete the picture. Rating 95. Drink to 2017.

_________________________

TASTING NOTE

The nose opens with an intriguing fruit and matchstick character, a deep sense of the underlying power to follow on the palate. It says ‘this wine is not for the faint hearted’. The palate is a powerful amalgam of peach fruit cut with wood and an edge of minerality. The finish is long and penetrating, requiring some appropriately flavoursome food such as char grilled swordfish. Just starting to drink really well now, it should last for some years yet.
-Rick Kinzbrunner, April 2011

WINEMAKING

Whole bunch basket pressing. Full malolactic fermentation with substantially all wild yeasts. Aged in French oak barriques for 18 months

FRUIT: Yarra Valley fruit, hand-picked from a select site on our Dixon’s Creek vineyard. Cropping levels adjusted to 1.5 to 2 tonnes per acre.

MADE AT: Giaconda
QUANTITY: 350 Dozen
ALCOHOL: 14.2%
CLOSURE: Screwcap

 

WARNING Under the Liquor Control Reform Act 1998 it is an offence to supply alcohol to a person under the age of 18 years. The penalty exceeds $8,000. It is an offence for a person under the age of 18 years to purchase or receive liquor. The penalty exceeds $700. Licence No. 36094104
Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management

© 2003 -
Toolangi Vineyards
Privacy Policy